Monday 2021-05-10




By Simon Shabangu | 2020-10-15

HIS Majesty King Mswati III has appointed 19 members to serve into various emabandla with immediate effect.

The members were announced by the Attorney General Sifiso Mafelenkhosini M. Khumalo during a press briefing held at the ministry of defence at Lozitha yesterday.

The AG was joined by Chief Officer in the King’s Office Chief Mgwagwa Gamedze and King’s Private Secretary Mbongeni Simelane.

His Majesty the King appointed four members into the King’s Advisory Committee, otherwise known as Liqoqo. The members are Prince Matatazela, Prince Masuku, Prince Sibhimbi Tandlatiyagezana and Prince Mandlenkhosi Rowland Dlamini. Prince Mandlenkhosi currently serves as a Board member of the Eswatini Observer and Eswatini Investment Promotion Authority (EIPA).

Bishop Sipho City Tembe was appointed into the Elections and Boundaries Commission, while Chief Dambuza Lukhele was appointed to serve in the Border Restoration Committee. 

Prince Mguqiso has been appointed to chair the Land Management Board, who replaces the late Prince Phinda. The King also appointed four members to serve into the Civil Service Commission.

These are Prince Ngangabani, Princess Nkosingumenzi, Chief Velamuva Maseko and Ntombi Mngomezulu. They join Chairman Peter Mamba.  His Majesty the King has appointed the new Citizenship Board, headed by Fikile V. Dlamini. Other members are Princess Msindvose, Chief Ngangaza, Vusi Thwala, Muzi A. Dlamini, Lungile P. Nxumalo, Pastor Griffiths Dlamini and Makhosi Simelane, who is an Ex-Officio member in his capacity as Chief Immigration Officer.  Some members were redeployed as they were previously serving in other boards, while others are totally new.

It should be noted that emabandla were appointed into office in April last year. Prince Mguqiso and Prince Ngangabani were both serving in the Liqoqo before they were redeployed,  while Princess Nkosingumenzi and Chief Velamuva Maseko were serving in the EBC and BRC, respectively.

Meanwhile, Emabandla were appointed by His Majesty to begin their five-year term in office, which usually runs concurrently with the term of office for Legislators.

The Liqoqo is chaired by former deputy prime minister Paul Dlamini, who is deputised by Siphocosini Chief Prince Jabhane.

share story          

Email Google LinkedIn Print Twitter

Post Your Comments Below


His Majesty’s Government through the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Trade has officiall...

read more         

It will be raining over E1million in prizes as MTN Eswatini celebrates a decade since the introdu...

read more         

Business Eswatini in conjunction with Vukani Bomake braved the weather to exhibit their wares thi...

read more         

Amazulu nation Prime Minister Mangosuthu Buthelezi has officially announced that Misuzulu Zulu is...

read more         

World News